Question: ? Grades (marks) encourage students to learn. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is a question of whether grades encourage students to learn or not. Some people believe that grades are a way to test a person’s ability and intelligence. While many hold the view that they motivate the learners, I see it through different lenses. I firmly believe that grades cannot inspire students to learn and I hold this view for a couple of reasons. First, learners can get demotivated by getting low grades. Moreover, they just focus on their marks instead of learning. First and foremost, some students feel stressed whenever they are expected to take an exam. Consequently, the stress can affect their ability and they might get bad grades. Being stressed out when I have an exam, my knowledge cannot be evaluated correctly owing to the fact that my mind goes blank. Therefore, even if I study a lot I get low marks. And this discourages me from learning. The second reason is that sometimes students are categorized based on their marks. It might make students study to get higher marks than understanding the lessons. For instance, in developed countries, your mark shows your knowledge not your understanding from your lessons. Hence, the students just try to satisfy their teachers and parents with their high marks even if they do not understand the lesson fully. This can lead to a disaster in near future. Taking everything into the consideration, although grades are a way to assess the students’ knowledge, it should not be a way to encourage them to learn. It is argued that marks are a double-edged sword that can work to the students’ advantage or discourage them from learning like the ones who cannot control their stress during an exam and the ones who get demotivated. Finally, it cannot be denied that marks should not be used to inspire them to learn.