Quality of life in big cities are declining. What causes it and what can be done to solve this issue.

It is believed that the quality of life in big cities is declining and people who live in big cities always complaint about numerous issues they face. The following essay will discuss some major reasons behind the issue, and some steps that people and government could do to resolve the problem. For a number of reasons, many people believe that the quality of life in cosmopolitan cities such as in New Delhi, London, Beijing, New York, and Jakarta is degrading. Firstly, it is obvious that large cities have problems with traffic. As the population in big cities is growing rapidly each year, it means that the number of cars that commutes on streets is also increasing. The growing number of cars on streets and highways will definitely cause traffic congestion and impact on the air quality as well. Secondly, it is a fact that in many big cities such as in New York or Manila, the crime rate is considerably higher. Consequently, the local people do not feel safe when they walk in the park or in the subway station, as they could be robbed or injured anytime. Increasing living expenses, housing issues, and ever-increasing competition in workplaces are some other reasons for the degraded lifestyle in such big cities. The rapid growth of new supermalls, factories and offices in residential areas are also the reasons many people feel that the quality of life in big cities is decreasing. There are some solutions that governments and communities could consider to address the problem. One of them is that governments should provide decent and comfortable public transportation. By having a good public transportation system, it is hoped that people will choose to use public buses or trains rather than driving their own cars. As a result, it will reduce the traffic congestion and air pollution. Another solution is that government should add more policemen and install more surveillance videos in areas with high crime activities. By having more policemen and video recorders, criminals will think twice before they do any crime acts. Lastly, as existing big cities are overcrowded, governments should develop new residential and commercial areas. By having these new areas, it is hoped that some of the city people will move to new areas and reduce the density issue. Decentralisation of cities could be another effective solution to decrease the ever-increasing population in the cities. Finally, commercial areas should be kept far away from the residential areas and unplanned commercialisation in such areas should be prohibited. In conclusion, it is a fact that the quality of life in large cities is decreasing nowadays and it is mainly due to density, traffic, uncontrolled commercialisation and crime problems. However, there are some recommendations that governments could consider and apply. They should build a better public transportation system, add more security personnel and develop new areas. By doing these recommendations, it is hoped that the quality of life in big cities will get better.