It is thought by some people that putting felons in jail is not an appropriate solution for the issue but providing education and job training is the most worthwhile option

It is thought by some people that putting felons in jail is not an appropriate solution for the issue but providing education and job training is the most worthwhile option. From my viewpoint, I disagree with this standpoint to a certain mark. I believe that the penitentiary still plays an imperative role in the criminal justice system. Firstly, the main reason prisons are built is to take away lawbreakers' freedom. This means that when anyone commits a crime, they must be punished for their transgression. For instance, people who commit murderous violence need to be isolated from the community, so custodial is the best deterrent for their actions. Moreover, I believe education and training are more pertinent programs for juvenile or minor offenders. Thus, citizens will not be afraid to commit a crime because the consequences they already know will not be so severe but rather humble. Secondly, the maintenance of prisons and detention centers is already an luxurious area for the government, so providing additional education and training services will consume large annual budgets. As a result, this will increase the tax rate levied on innocent persons, which is unfair. Furthermore, it is ingenuous to expect everyone to obey the law just because they are provided with better education and job skills. We cannot disregard the fact that some people are morally bad by nature and some psychologically unstable people may be motivated to commit transgressions. In conclusion, better education and job training is not the definitive answer to crime, nor can it eliminate prison sentences in this regard. However, it may be the best combination for convicts in the fight against crime.