Q: More and more families have computers in their homes. What advantages and disadvantages do home computers have for children? Should parents restrict the amount of time their children spend using the computer

Nowadays, the computer plays an important role in almost everyone's life, and it has become an essential part of life for many families. However, it also has certain drawbacks, especially for children. This essay will discuss the positive and negative impacts of computers on our children. To begin with, the benefits of using a computer are widely acknowledged. Firstly, a computer is a useful tool for school work. It provides children with a useful platform for acquiring knowledge effectively. Also, a computer provides learners easy access, through the internet, to vast amounts of resources. Google is a prime example, because it allows people to easily search for whatever they want quickly and accurately. Secondly, computers keep children entertained and teach them new things at the same time. Moreover, for some children who are very active, curious, and like to observe everything around, the lively sounds and the fun images on the web page will appeal to them. For example, young kids can learn to count, learn the alphabet or identify shapes and objects by watching funny cartoon images on the computer screen, which stimulate creativity, memory training, and observation skills. However, spending excessive periods of time on the computer at home, children are likely to become addicted and have eyesight problems. For example, if a child loves playing games on the computer rather than participating in outdoor activities, they may lose interest in studying as well as in socializing with their peers. Moreover, the immensity of the internet means it is very difficult to control and regulate. Therefore, young people may access unsuitable websites and content. In conclusion, although computers are helpful for studying, the adverse effects they bring outweigh their benefits. Thus, ideally parents should supervise and control their children's use of computers and the internet to ensure they do not spend too much time on the computer or access inappropriate content.