Q. An increasing number of people are now using the internet to meet new people and socialise. Some people think this has brought people closer together while others think people are becoming more isolated.

With the rise in the dependency on the internet to interact and socialise with new people, masses are now having contrasting viewpoints as for some the extensive use of the internet has brought people closer while for others it has left individuals more isolated. This essay will discuss arguments on both sides and will summarize my stand on the subject. To begin with, let us consider the first half of our argument on how the internet has bettered the bond between individuals and in support of this argument the first observation is the availability of the internet. Today, we have a plethora of internet-enabled messenger apps which give one the power to connect with anyone in all parts of the world at any time and from anywhere. People can now make their loved ones feel connected by just a few taps of their finger. Adding on, another great thing which the internet has provided humankind are video calls as it almost replicates the experience one generates from a face to face meeting and again from anywhere. Be it your office requirement or personal endeavour, one person or twenty people video calls has made it all possible and in the easiest of manner. Interestingly, the incredible success story of the internet bringing humans close has a downside, as it is also responsible for limiting the individual from stepping out and choosing to socialise physically. The first support point is the over-dependency of the virtual setup and considering face to face meeting a secondary option or in some cases no option at all. Unfortunately, this reality is becoming more and more dominant as people have ceased to see the positives of physical meeting namely, better trust and more productive conversation. Another point to consider is meeting non virtually is much more taxing in terms of one’s pocket, time and energy as it requires to travel to a place of meeting and again for this reason alone people choose to go virtual instead. To conclude, I can only say one should welcome the advancements in the technology and the internet and shall encourage its application to socialise amongst each other to limit one feels it is a wiser option and must not deter from stepping out and meeting their friends and family physically as face to face meetings have unique joy and satisfaction.