Television is dangerous because it destroys family life and any sense of community; instead of visiting people or talking with our family members we just watch television.

The issue of whether watching television is harmful to us has aroused wide concerns among various circles. Some critics state that television is hazardous as it ruins family life and any sense of community. I agree with the above idea as I believe that television may affect the family relationship and people's sense of the community. On the one hand, never should we overlook the fact that television programs can sometimes be insurmountably addictive. Television programs are usually so entertaining that people tend to watch television all day long. Therefore, they rarely have interactions with their family and friends when they only glue their eyes on the television screen. Take people in Hong Kong as an example, the duration of average daily time spent on television can up to 5. 5 hours per day for heavy viewers. By spending overwhelming time on television, no wonder it will deteriorate the relationship between individuals and their family and friends. On the other hand, in addition to the aforementioned argument about television addiction, the social life of individuals will be reduced by watching television. People are reluctant to get involved in social activities when they want to spend time watching television and finish the episode. Compared to other alternatives be it sports or hiking which do not only provide more opportunities for human interaction but also are beneficial to their physical health. Even though some people may argue that families can watch television together, television itself is a one-way communication tool. Therefore, they are still involved in less face-to-face direct communication and interaction with family and friends when they watch the show together. There is no doubt that television affects individuals’ sense of community owing to the lack of social participation. In short, television indeed will bring detrimental effects on the human relationships with family and friends as people focus too much on television. At the same time, the lack of social involvement also destroys their sense of community.