Punishment advantages and disadvantages

Punishment has both positive and negative impacts on a person. The pros of punishing a person doing drugs are that the person learns from their mistake and tries to avoid any error in their life. Punishment can be a life lesson for them so the reason of punishing the drug offender is to reduce the crime rate. Also, criminals can indulge in work which will keep their physical and mental health diverted from drugs. This is an effective way of punishing criminals as they will not refrain from committing that or any other crime again. Putting them behind the bars will also benefit the security of the society from dangerous and violent crimes. Moreover, punishment is dissuasion. For instance, it is believed that wrongdoers will not repeat their mistake and will think twice before taking any step and this will give them a chance to look on their mistakes and reform their behavior. According to the law, it is vital to put drug offenders behind bars because they are mentally sick and require treatment. People who are involved in dealing with drugs are severely punished which can benefit others by decreasing the number of drugs being sold and will increase rehabilitation and the safety of others. Examples should be made while punishing. For instance, a strict punishment given to a person can set example for other persons to refrain from committing crime and violating the law. In addition, while drug addicts are in prison, other crimes are also being reduced which will maintain the safety of society. The cons of punishments such as prison, sentence to death or paying fines are that consuming substantial number of drugs can lead to health problems, chronic illness, injuries to others and themselves. Also, long term health complications can also be caused. Moreover, a lot of money is wasted in lawyers' fees, court costs and bail fees and addiction of drugs causes less productivity. Punishment is given to a person so they can realize their mistake or learn from it, but punishment causes depression for some people. This is not effective for everyone because sensitive people can go into depression and others become aggressive and learn more ways of committing crime. The crime rates have increased, moreover, criminals adapt crime by staying in the prison and interacting with other prisoners. Furthermore, if punishments will not be so severe then criminals will not have a fear of punishment and will easily commit crime again. Likewise, if punishments are harsh, it can result in an unpleasant situation. So, a better way is to keep punishment neutral by punishing the offender until they know what it is like to be punished and this way their fear of the law will strengthen. In addition, when internal control is not learned, punishment often leads to aggression, disruptive behavior, and delinquency. One form of punishment is prison, which is a disadvantage because some drug offenders can be charged and their case to resolve can take years and they would frequently have to go to court.