Public transportation should be free for the people who use it. ?

Public transportation, as is known to us, has become an indispensable part of daily life. However, some people hold the belief that public transport should be provided to people free of charge. From my perspective, I approve of this statement by presenting the following reasons. Admittedly, it is manifest that the financial pressure of government will be relieved, because of charging for public transportation of public. To be more precise, the cost of government investment in public transport facilities is very high, for this reason, charging people for public transport can make up the cost to the government, which will have more money spend on other infrastructure projects, such as the environmental protection and culture education. However, it is only one part of the cost of public transportation that government spending will not be reduced significantly. In fact, traffic congestion and environmental pollution, as a serious problem in the contemporary society, can be relieved by free public transport. Most of the time, going out to working or eating, people tend to use private cars since the long distance or bad weather, which, as a result, may leads to the problem of traffic jam. In an attempt to relieve the traffic burden, the free public transits, as a policy welfare provided by the government, can make middle class give up buying private cars and turn to the public transportation. Furthermore, allowed free use of public transport, people will use their private cars less, which contributes to purifying environment by reducing the emission of waste gas. Therefore, it is with using transportation for free that traffic situation and environmental quality can be improved. In conclusion, although paying for the traffic fees will reduce a small part of the government’s finial pressure, public transport is free for people has a greater effect on traffic pressure relief and environmental improvement.