In many developed countries, stress is one of the biggest problems. What are the causes of this? What are the solutions?

However paradoxical it may seem, but is true that the more life develops the more prone people become to stress. Although triggering factors of ever-increased anxiety are not difficult to determine, addressing them is tricky enough. Shift in values is one of the most obvious culprits of stress. Today, a staggering number of people place excessive importance on material wealth. Almost every other person chases possessions costing a fortune in order to look affluent and blend with the upper layer of society. This “aim” stresses people out before they achieve the desired outcome. So as to change the situation and abstain people from stress, meritocracy should be promoted over commercialism. Given that the mindset of people alters, there will be less pressure to work all the hours that God sends, so one cause of stress will fade away. High level of competition is another contributing factor. As life evolves, so do different spheres of life. Not to fall behind, not only do people have to overwork, but also constantly bear in mind the thought that competitors are very close if not ahead. Working in such a way relatively quickly wears people off and leads to stress. Identifying a worthwhile solution is not an easy task though since it is nothing but impossible to curb the development of life. The most obvious solution, thus, is to work in a realm that has no competition, but finding one is not going to be straightforward. The final cause is the most widespread – social networking websites. At present, virtually everyone attempts to create a so called “ideal surface picture” on social medias such as Instagram and Facebook. When one succeeds in their endeavors and creates such an illusion, others develop an inferiority complex, which conduces to stress. To resolve this, people should stop being naïve and learn to distinguish reality from virtual life. To conclude, even though stress has become a common issue, it is possible to avoid it should we take the abovementioned measures.