public share of scientific research

In the context of scientific research, some believe that all the information and enquiries should be shared in the business and academic realm. And on the other side, there is another perspective defending the right of privacy and the right of the intellectual ownership. In this essay these points of view will be examined. In the modern day, each business needs its own unique set of capabilities helping it to survive, and to thrive and to gain staretegical position in a market subsequently; In this competetive environment, there are rudimentary sets of rules and techniques that are the basic alphabet of doing business in an industry, and there are sets of know-hows and competetive advantages distinguishing the successful entities ruling the industry from the fledgling so-called startups which only last a few months. And it might not be a surprise that business owners, leaders and tycoons spend enormous amounts of resources to save these know-hows and stop these secret formulas from leaking out. For this economic point of view, sharing as much information as possible, might not be a reasonable statement and might lead to a financial catastrophe for some businesses or increasing a chance for fraud. At the other end, in the academic environment, there is a group of people advocating the right for free share and publication of scientific research; There are a few sets of claims used by this group to justify this cause, such as the right of free education for all, or helping researchers in the undeveloped countires who are not able to perform scientific research throughly, due to the lack of equipment or economic impoverishments. It might sound convincing at first glance, but after a bit of scrutiny, one might point out to the dangers of sharing all the scientific achievments to the public. Imagine a world, that all individuals are able to easily access the knowledge of nuclear physics; As devestating as it sounds, sharing the state of the art of knowledge to the public might not necessarily lead to an improved and more just world. To conclude, the right to access the scientific research for the public might cause some devestating impacts on organizations and business entities, or might facilitate misusing the knowledge by individuals or groups with malicious intent. Beside these aformentioned consequences, it might be a severly discouraging factor for full-time researchers, devoting their life on scientific research, to publish their attainemts for free to be used for better or worse.