Public libraries will soon no longer be housed in a building as all facilities and books will be available online for all to access. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of public libraries only existing online.

Public libraries will soon discontinue from being in their current format of ‘brick and mortar’ as all the books will be available online for everyone’s access. There are certain advantages to this, such as any time accessibility, but a few disadvantages, such as the impact on the overall social experience associated with a public library. This essay meticulously explores both advantages and disadvantages of public libraries existing only online. Due to the advent of the internet, almost everything has become available with the click of a button. This model will be soon adopted for public libraries which will certainly have many benefits. Online library means that now people will be able to access the library during any time of the day as per their convenience and availability. They do not need to travel to a particular place to read their favourite books and they can read the same from the comfort of their home or anywhere in the world. This ‘online only’ model was adopted in Belgium around 2018 and was very much appreciated by the local residents. However, switching completely to the online model from the traditional ‘brick and mortar’ style has also got certain disadvantages. Apart from reading books, public libraries have also been a common ground to meet like-minded people. Public libraries have not been only about reading books but the overall environment and unique experience associated with them. Historically, public libraries have been breeding grounds for astonishing social ideas where people from different backgrounds come together and share their varied perspectives. One such example was quoted in a famous book named ‘The children of the midnight’ where public libraries became the epicenter of India’s independence revolution. To conclude, both the formats have their pros and cons but in my view, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. We might miss on the holistic experience of a library but also save on other precious commodities such as time and space along with facilitating comfortable and flexible access to the knowledge pool.