Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

Punishing the offenders is very crucial to maintain law and order in the society. Several Individuals assert that it would be better to have a fixed punishment system for all kinds of crimes. However, others believe that degree of offence should be taken into consideration before giving any ruthlessness punishment. This essay will discuss both sides, but I am personally inclined to the latter view. There are a plethora of contributing factors that support a fixed punishment system. First and Foremost, the ruthlessness of punishment keeps away everyone from the criminal activities. Thus it ensures peace and harmony in the society. For example, Arabic country recorded less rate of crime owing to their harsh punishment such as death and lifetime imprisonment in each crime. Secondly, it also saves time and money of judiciary and public as well. This time can be utilized for curbing other issues. For instance, a number of innocents have to spend some time in imprisonment and criminals moves freely due to delay in decision. On the other hand, a number of people believe that degree of offence should be considered before penalizing criminals. The main aim of the judicial system is to penalize the offenders not the innocents. Many a times, the innocent person has to bear the cost of crime done by others. Sometimes they feel that there should be some flexibility in law for them to prove their innocence. A Pick pocketer cannot be sentenced to death for this crime. This offence cannot be compare with the assassination. Assassination and burglary are more heinous crime under which degree of punishment should be more as compared to other offences. To recapitulate, I would like to reiterate that although a fixed punishment assist in maintaining law in the community, but its negative consequences could not be overlooked. So, it would be better to think about the level and type of crime.