The only way to cut crime rate is build more prisons and make prison sentences longer. with this opinion.

The influence of mass media has increased the rate of crime nowadays. To stop this crime, strict actions are necessary to be implemented. While constructing more jails might be an alternative although, it is not the only solution. I believe that longer sentences may help to reduce crime but educating the population is a must. Until we create an educated awareness among the masses, controlling crime would be very difficult. If we inculcate proper behavior and discipline starting from the childhood, wouldn’t this solve the problem? Punishing the kids for their mistakes is a way to avoid them from repeating their mistakes. Secondly, the government should make strict laws for crimes so that the people will think twice before doing anything illegal. Even crimes like robberies, kidnapping, etc. should having penalties like life imprisonment. If such crimes are not taken seriously, the criminals will not be afraid to recommit such crimes. But, on the other hand I also agree that making longer prison sentences for crimes like rapes is a way to stop them. Moreover, longer prison sentences haunt the criminals of living in the prison forever. Such crimes should not only have longer prison sentences but also include death penalties. Strict actions will thus help controlling the crime rate. Building more jails is also a good alternative in cities that have higher crime rates. This will not keep the hearings, in the court, on hold due to overcrowded prisons. Additionally, it is easier to keep the criminals under control and mange the facilities properly. Special high-security prisons are necessary for some of the most wanted and dangerous criminals. To conclude, I believe having strict laws and creating an educated awareness is necessary to control the criminal activities along with constructing more prisons and increasing the prison sentences.