Psychologists have known for many years that colour can affect how people feel. For this reason, attention should be given to colour schemes when decorating places such as offices and hospitals. How true is this statement? How far does colour influence people’s health and capacity for work?

The ambiance of the working environment could have a different impact to an individual and by giving consideration to this, there are a number of offices or hospitals who take time in choosing the appropriate color for them. It is known that people has there own personal favorite color but in choosing the color scheme for a work place, employers takes time to decide. In addition, I strongly believe that the color of the working environment has an effect to the employees or clients feeling. I am an example for this because I work as a nurse in the neonatal intensive care unit. Because of this, our unit was painted with bears and baby animals in bright colors which puts me in good mood and gives me motivation to do well in my job, also it helps our tiny baby patients in their road to recovery. Furthermore, there is a huge impact of colors for the employees when they come to work. An office colored with dark colors has a negative impact and it lessen the ability of the employees to be productive because a dark ambiance in the working place is known to help the employees to fall asleep, also the clients are afraid to enter offices that is dark. Whilst, offices painted with bright colors, gives life to the working environment and as a result, employees are more focused to their jobs. It also attracts more clients and employees has a more positive output. In conclusion, the color scheme in the work place is carefully chosen because they give different impact not only on one's mood but it also affect the capabality of the employees to be productive.