Pros and cons of tighter gun control

Whether a tough policy related to selling and purchasing firearms needs imposing has arisen numerous controversies. In this essay, I will shed light on both the positive and negative sides of that legislation. To begin with, tighter gun control is a prerequisite for a peaceful country. First and foremost, firearms are one of the culprits of innocent citizens’ mortalities along with injuries. It is criminals and terrorists who will harness that deadly weapon to intimate others and carry out evil plots, such as bank robbing or forcing the government to concede authority. Moreover, by virtue of legally purchasing guns, there is an increase in the number of manslaughters and homicides annually. To exemplify, in America, a little child shot his father by chance when holding a firearm. Hence, without the policy, the state can not ensure dwellers’ welfare and reduce the risks of bloody massacres. Secondly, the control on guns tends to inhibit violent culture among children. To be specific, witnessing adults’ using that weapon spoils and corrupts children’s minds. Unless they are educated regularly, they will mislead the purpose of these fatal tools and develop aggressive behaviors while solving conflicts. However, imposing a restriction on firearms triggers some repercussions for individuals and the whole society. At the individual level, guns act as a means of self-defense. In other words, a house equipped with a gun is not likely to be assaulted. By contrast, armless people, especially women and the weak, will be the subject of offenders. At a communal level, people will utilize extremely perilous alternatives to commit a crime. Although the law can enhance the safety of dwellers in the short term, in the long run, it will prompt bad evils to produce homemade explosives with greater destructive power and pave the way for knife attacks, for instance. Not only do these weapons require more effort and resources to tackle, but they also cause more unexpected damage to mankind. In conclusion, harsher gun control can bring benefits as well as pose a threat to the community. The government should consider thoroughly before implementing laws on public use of firearms to protect citizens and deter crimes.