PROS AND CONS OF ORGANIC VEGETABLES’ CONSUMPTION

Organic vegetables have gained enormous popularity over the last few years. While many consumers have justified their choices by showing the advantages of their chosen products, some people are skeptical about their downsides. This essay is devoted to discussing both pros and cons of organic vegetables’ consumption. The most obvious reason for buying organic food is that it is friendly to the environment. While the production of other kinds of food involves excessive use of hazardous chemicals, which is extremely harmful to the farmland, there is a set of strict restrictions imposed on the amount of pesticides used for growing organic vegetables. As a result, the quality of soil and artesian waters remain intact. In addition, organic vegetables are an indispensable part of a healthy diet. They provide essential vitamins and minerals for the human’s body. What’s more, having a portion of organic vegetables in every meal can prevent dangerous heart diseases. Despite their promising benefits, organic vegetables still have a number of setbacks. First of all, the price of these desired products is relatively high. For instance, a kilogram of “organic” tomatoes can cost twice as much as that without the label. They can hardly be financially feasible to the low-income or even middle-class shoppers and possibly restrict their access to organic food. Another disadvantage of those is their short-lived freshness. Organic vegetables are likely to go off within a few days, even when under good preservation. This can be a conundrum for customers who have to find a trustworthy seller and make a plan to consume all bought food before its “expiry date”. In conclusion, while organic vegetables are beneficial to both environment and human, they also raise some concern in terms of their great cost and quick deterioration. Be that as it may, I believe that there will be one day when organic vegetables are seen in every family’s meal.