pros and cons of co-education

Our society is becoming more and more developed. As a result, gender equality also improves and boys and girls can go to school equally. Therefore, co-education was born and gradually replace single-sex education. However, everything has two sides: advantages and disadvantages and co-education has no exception. To begin with, co-education can help pupil prepare for their future life. Co-education itself gives students the chance to be in an environment that mirrors the real world. In the future, scholars ought to work with both man and women consequently when they were put into this environment, they can learn how to interact, communicate with their male or female counterparts. It can also support them respect each other and reduce confusion when they get into real life. Secondly, co-education can help students develop brains and minds more. Normally, most male students are always good at science subjects, such as Math, Physics, Chemistry, …on the contrary the girl is usually gifted in the subjects, such as Literature, English, History, … Because of this, they can support each other with their strength and weakness. Finally, studying in a co-education school can create respect for the opposite gender. In the past, female scholars were treated unfairly, they didn’t have any right to talk for themselves, didn’t have any chance to become a leader. However, co-education has prevented it. due to the fact when both sexes interact regularly in the same environment, the boys can eliminate stereotypes about girls and raise awareness of gender equality. On the other hand, co-education also brings a number of disadvantages. First, co-education can make scholar immerse themselves in love relationships, especially when students begin to move into teenager’s years. When both sexes study in the same environment, they easily fall in love with the opposite sex. As a result, they can not focus on their study and lead to bad marks. Unfortunately, some have to stop their study in light of the fact that they get pregnant. And this accidentally destroy their future. For instance, in 2019, there was a male students knocking four girls up in Phu Tho. This news made a lot of people shocked and questioned the safety of co-education. Second of all, in some co-education school, there is also a phenomenon of sexual harassment. Associate Professor Dr. Tran Thanh Nam - Dean of the Faculty of Educational Sciences, University of Education (Vietnam National University, Hanoi) — said that he and his colleagues conducted a research on 400 students in grades 10 and 11, studying at two schools in Hanoi and Nam Dinh. Their research indicated that 63% of students who participated in the survey confirmed that the school had sexual harassment. The reason why the rate of this problem is high is students at this age are not mature in thinking. Sometimes, they cannot control their feeling and behavior. Third of all, co-education cannot create relaxed atmosphere. When they are in single-sex education, they can confidently express themselves without caring about eyes of opposite sexes. But co-education is limiting this. Some female students said that they when they spoke, they would feel more comfortable with less male presence. And some male students said that they were very embrassed to cooperate with female counterparts and this will lead to lower productivity. Finally, co-education cannot be tailored to best fit the needs and characters of each gender. For example, in biology, teachers can create separate curriculum for girls and boys because in terms of biology, male and female have a lot of differences. Studying the same curriculum in this subject can embarrass students and prevent them from learning effectively.