TODAY’S TEENAGERS HAVE MORE STESSFULL LIFE THAN PREVIOUS GENERATIONS. DISCUSS THIS VIEW AND GIVE YOUR OWN OPINION.

Despite a continuing improvement in standard of living, many people believe that young people suffer more stress than older generations. In this essay, the arguments surrounding the issue of teenage stress will be discussed. Firstly, teenagers are exposed to more products than earlier generations as a result of living in a modern consumer society. Through films and the media they see celebrities with expensive jewellery, cloths, and cars. Due to increasing technology day by day people get to know about latest technological advancements such as digital music and mobile phones. Youngsters feel more pleasure to get those items. However, I believe such type of stresses were not so strong during earlier times. It could also be argued that pressures at school are stronger than before. In order to achieve the life they see in media, teenagers must study hard so they can compete for the best jobs. Parental pressure, examinations, and homework are all reported as causing increased levels of strain. On the other hand, although it may be true that modern society causes more stress it does not necessarily mean that stress was previously absent. In earlier times hunger and physical discomfort are the main reasons for increasing levels of anxiety, as people in the past do lot of physical labour, for example, working down a mine. To sum up, consumerism and academic pressures are more powerful causes of stress on today’s generations. Nevertheless, it is my view that these stresses are no greater than those experienced by earlier generations of teenagers.