PROPOSITION: Some people believe that in order to be successful in sport, one must be physically strong. However, others argue that mental strength is more important. PROMPT: Discuss both views and give our opinion

Sports is a tedious activity that only few people succeed or do for sports is not for everyone, only people with exceptional skills survived in this competitive world. Success in sports lies in the physical strength and ability of a person some people believe whilst others argues that mental capabilities is more valuable than the former. As the writer of this essay, I will posit ideas that matter and value on the matter. A plethora of sports pre-requisites physical strength for instance, basketball, tennis, boxing and so on. People who engage in these sports are expected to have exceptional physical endurance as these sports are tedious activities. Hence, athletes train for hours to achieve the endurance and strength required for the sport. Physically strong sports individuals are seen shining in their sports of choice. However, in the realm of sports, athletes that are mentally strong are seen to be more successful than others both in contact and non-contact sports are those mental capabilities outwit others. Their sense of strategy is what separates them from other athletes. Sports needs to be planned to carefully and intelligent athletes study their opponents strategies to design strategies that could possibly defeat an opponent. Moreover, mentally strong persons perceives defeat and winning as an opportunity to hone their skills. Much more on defeat where athletes that has high emotional quotient will come out more stronger every after their loss. As a result, physical strength is valuable but with only this factor being present, some athletes have the difficulty to cope on loss and formulate gaming strategies that work. Hence, a mixture of these two capabilities will result in a successful sportsman. The hardwork being spent on training is governed by both mind conditioning and physical strength. Therefore, athletes should not be trained only physically but also improve their emotional and mental strength that come what may, may it be win or loss, an athlete will be come out strong whatever the outcome may be. For a successful athlete does not depend on the medals and awards one has achieved, but how he positively deals with his losses and the healthy relationship he has with his coaches, team mates and his opponents are essential in maintaining one’s success in the sports world.