most important periods in many people's lives because that's when they learn new things and prepare for their future careers.

most important periods in many people's lives because that's when they learn new things and prepare for their future careers. While some people claim that university students must attend classes, other people, however, argue that students should have the right to decide whether they want to go to class or not. In my view, students can get personal experiences in the world outside the classroom, but when it comes to acquiring academic knowledge, attending class should take priority. First, in class, students receive the benefit of the teacher's presence. Most teachers do more than just go over the information in the class textbook. They draw their students into discussion of the material. They present opposing points of view. They schedule guest speakers to come, give the students additional information, or show documentary films on the subject. Moreover, there are many subjects which are difficult to understand without attending lectures. Lectures and detailed explanation make the subject easier to understand. For example, when I was at university, I had an oriental studies class, which was difficult for me to understand from the book alone. But when I attended the lectures about this subject, it was very helpful. The teacher explained things very clearly, provided many examples and conducted experiments that helped me understand the material. This experience taught me that university students should attend classes in order to understand their subjects.