Promotions to higher levels should be within a company and not to a new hire from outside

It is a widely debated topic whether opportunities for promotion should be given to existing employees or new employees. This essay agrees that internal promotion is beneficial for both the company as well as the employees. This essay will first look at how company will be able to save hiring cost and time by promoting internal staff rather than recruiting new individuals. Further, it will discuss that internal promotion will help to boost morale of employees and thus improve productivity. companies enjoy huge benefits by promoting long term employees as they are able to save the expenses incurred in carrying out in recruiting along with training new people for higher level positions. This is to say, since existing employees performance is already known to the management, it will easy to promote them according to their capabilities and kills to the higher level positions. Thus, the promotion will take at much faster pace and excess recruitment costs can be avoided. To elucidate, a recent survey in The Time in March 2019 found that large organisations are able to save more that 60 percent of their cost by promoting internally and are able to invest that money in other more important fields. Apart from the companies, employees are also benefited. Internal promotions helps to motivate employees and they perform with greater enthusiasm in their jobs. Hence, not only improving their performance but also opening doors with greater opportunities. Moreover, when promoted to higher rankings not only increases their salary but also provides them with greater benefits. To exemplify, a recent survey in The New York Times showed that companies that opt for internal promotions have more than 80 percent of satisfied employees. To conclude, shifting to the higher level positions should be done within the organisations as it is advantageous both for the company by reducing their expenses and to employees by boosting their motivation level.