Promotions to higher levels should be from within a company and not to hire from outside.

The process of filling up higher posts in the organisation is a topic of debate. The above statement has favoured the promotions to higher levels from internal human resources over hiring new employees from outside the firm. However, in my opinion, a firm should not rely entirely on existing employees to fill up vacant positions but also hire employees from outside. There is no doubt that promoting employees to upper levels in the organisational hierarchy has numerous benefits. To begin with, an existing employee already knows the rules, regulations and working culture of the company, so he/she does not need any orientation training. Thus saves two important organisational resources, time and money. Moreover, when an existing employee is promoted to the higher supervisory level, he/she understands the capabilities of their subordinates and can motivate them to give better results. Apart from them, if a person from existing manpower is chosen to fill up the vacancy at a higher post, then the rest of the internal manpower also feels motivated because that their hard work and dedication will also be appreciated by the management. But, higher positions can not solely be filled up via promotions. Lack of the suitable person is the main reason my organisations resort to hire a new employee at a higher post. Although recruiting a new person for a management position is a very difficult, time consuming and costly process, still is has many benefits which outweigh these difficulties. For example: Selecting a new employee gives the company an opportunity to choose from the huge pool of eligible persons and this new person will bring the new experience and fresh mind in the existing working culture. To sum up, I would like to reiterate my opinion that a company should not be rigid in its policy to fill the higher posts from internal resources only. If the suitable person is not available from within, then it should not hesitate to hire a new person from outside.