Promoting Gender Equality at Work

Gender equality has always been an inseparable discussion of society nowadays. Many consider that gender equality is necessary for progress to be made in the ever-developing society. Many also consider that gender equality is not one of the most significant issues in society nowadays. Despite the current debate, gender equality directly impacts our life, especially our professional life. Women will most likely obtain lower pay than that of men, as women are naturally considered as vulnerable and compliant individuals. Whereas men are considered as creative and strong individuals. Thus, women always obtain lower pay despite their skills and their competences that are sometimes better than those of men. This fact is common in society nowadays whether they live in a developed or developing country around the world. In fact, gender equality is an inseparable issue when discussing about professional life at work. Truth to be told, working should be an experience that cannot be fundamentally judged based on gender of an individual. Working should be an experience in which every individual is required to contribute to the society or to their workplace based on their skills and their competences without having to know whether they are women or men. Men and women should make people aware that gender equality does not mean that women gain absolute power over men or vice versa. It is rather a condition in which we can grow awareness of men and women working together regardless of their sex or gender. It is rather a required condition to meet to create a more powerful society in which no one is left behind. The real solution to this current problem is that the government has to give equal opportunities to men and women in education. Despite the fact that we live in the modern age, education inequality is still the main problem. This kind of inequality results in an unbalanced condition among individuals in one country especially in the developing countries, whereas women are perceived as the second-class individuals that are only allowed to work at home. This contributes to the fact that women are severely uneducated. The government should try to raise social awareness that women should be allowed to improve themselves through education and that they have the same right with that of men. Men and women should learn to cooperate in order to create a magnificent contribution to the world or to themselves. Therefore, the author concludes that gender equality is one of the most vital issues in the professional world. Major part of society cannot comprehend the concept of gender equality which is sometimes perceived as one of the efforts by women to gain superiority over men. But the fact is that gender equality is a condition in which men and women regardless of their gender can cooperate and can benefit from their cooperation in order to improve themselves.