Professional workers like doctors, nurses and teachers make a greater contribution to society and so should be paid more than sports and entertainment personalities.

In recent years, there has been a heated debate about whether the income of artists and athletes should be higher than that of doctors, teachers or engineers. Some claim that proffesional workers should earn more than those working in the field of sports and entertainment for their contribution to society. Personally, though I agree that proffesional workers are the main driving force of today society, the possitive influence of artists and athletes should not be taken lightly. On the one side, proffesional workers are directly responsible for the technological advancement, which has shaped the course of history and will continue to mould the future of a country. For instance, in many developed nations, the technology has allowed the economy to sustain its steady growth speed, ensuring the nation’s prospect of a prosperous future. Futhermore, scientists with their vast knowledge are able to identify potential dangers to devise strategies and methods to protect mankind. To be more specific, thanks to the work of doctors and phamacists numerous previously fatal diseases can now be cured, saving millions of lives. On the other hand, people working in the fields of sports and showbiz can also contribute to society by inspiring others to perfect themselves in various aspects. In particular, sportsmen such as Usain Bolt or Michael Phelps have set examples of determination and hard work for children and alduts alike around the world while actors such as Keanu Reeves and Ewan McGregor taught them the leason of kindness to the less fortunate. Additionally, sportmen and artists can bring fame and name to the countries through their actions and achivements. For example, together with the rise of Maradona in the 1950s, Argentina saw a massive increase in its popularity, making it a well-known tourist destination by 1960. In conclusion, both proffesional workers and sportmen or artists contribute greatly to society in various forms. In my opinion, it would be inapporiate to simply judge the size of a person’s contribution to evaluate how much he/she should earn.