Product Placement Can Be A Lot More Powerful Than We Realize.

Advertising plays an important role in the modern competitive market. Some people argue that the influence of product placement is stronger than we are aware of. I totally agree with this statement. Product placement is an advertising method of inserting products into a TV program or film to naturally promote those ones. First of all, the power of this advertising technique shows up in sales revenues which it results in. For instance, Red stripe sales increased 50% after its placement in The Film. Furthermore, it is influential that companies spent $1. 8 billion globally on product placement in movies in 2013. Second, product placement can influence both implicit attitudes and implicit self-identification. The emotions which viewers experience while watching the program are transferred to products put in that program despite their unawareness of the transfer. In case those emotions are optimistic, they implicitly favour the products more, on the contrary, viewers will prefer them less. Besides, product placement can affect implicit self-identification. Audiences may begin to identify with a brand as a way to indirectly experience that character's life when seeing a favorite character use it. For example, in True Detective, when Matthew McConaughey's character was changing those tall boys of Lonestar to little beer can men, it was successful because the character was from Texas, if not beer, it wouldn't be effective. In conclusion, product placement can be more potent than we realize because of its significant effects in sales revenues and impact on viewers’ implicit attitudes and implicit self-identification.