problemss due to internet and the ways to solve them

The innovation of the internet is one of the major developments that had taken place in past two decades. It has become crucial in our everyday life and made sharing, analysing and consuming data and information easy. However, with this innovation came some problems. In this essay, the problems and solutions associated with information on internet will be discussed. One major drawback is the spread of fake news. Using internet it is easy to share information without authentication. It will result in spread of hoaxes and false information. For example, there had been many cases where the false news about the individual contesting in elections had spread to develop mistrust about the person in the public and sway their decisions. In addition, in these covid times the hoaxes spread about vaccination on social media has created a lot of mistrust among public and problems for government. The another problem is misusing of information available. All kinds of information is present on internet, be it good or bad. This information can be easily used for negative purposes like terrorism, robbery and money laundering. For instance, in a 17 year old in India claimed that he learnt how to make a bomb through internet and posted about it on social media. The same can be the case with terrorists and murderers. To reduce these problems, both the government and individual co-operation is important. The government has to keep in check about what is being uploaded on the internet. It has to develop new security systems through which only authenticated data can be shared. On an individual level every person has to be responsible about what they are sharing and figure out if the information is authenticated before believing it. Moreover, new policies and rules should be made, such as hefty fines and jail time for uploading fake news on internet and for using the information for immoral and wrong purposes. In conclusion, there are problems associated with the information on internet. These problems can be solved by government and individuals if everyone works together and be responsible.