includingcommunity service programmes in high school

School is not only an institution for academics, it is also a place where the youth learns the values and norms of a society in order to become a better asset to the community. Some scholars suggest the incorporation of volunteer community services in the educational policy, especially as part of highschool programmes, to become mandatory. High school should be a place to provide an opportunity for the students to grow their leadership skills and learn ways of becoming valuable members of the society they live in. One of the numerous ways of doing this is by creating an environment where they can freely engage in public initiatives. High schools should include programmes that enable the students to be more active members to the neighbourhood. This can be achieved by participating in charity, giving tutorials to the younger ones and engaging in various sport activities. There is no doubt that such programmes have beneficial effect. However there is a discussion regarding making this compulsory part of the educational system. Even though most educationalist agree on this view, there are some who are against on making such programmes a mandatory. On support of this view, they state students should have the freedom and willingness to be part of volunteers without any external pressure or rules. I strongly believe such programmes are ways to build a better generation with more skills than just academic ones. In conclusion, the government should find ways to make such community services part of highschool programmes with less restrictions.