Problems With Tests and Scores

Many teachers and professors believe that scores and grades are a good way of evaluating students. However, there are many problems with assigning methods all around the world. These problems are huge and spread in all countries, and many college and university students are against these methods. Like many students, I am against tests and grades for several reasons. First of all, tests only determine which students are good at taking tests and do not improve students' performance. Students' hard-working cannot be measured by a two-hour assignment. For example, if a student gets sick right before the test, he cannot pass the test, and all those efforts and hard-workings throughout the semester will be nothing. In addition to determining students' test-taking skills, many tests are unfair metrics for evaluation. According to James Popham, Ph. D. student, "There is certain mismatches between what's taught and what's have tested. " Many students believe that assignments are not fair. These beliefs can cause losing interest and ambition in students, which is dreadful. Another problem with these unfair metrics is increasing anxiety and stress in students. Statistics prove that 80 percent of college students lack sleep. All of these problems can impact the mental and physical health of students. Finally, test scores are not predictors of future success. Assignments and tests that can only, at best, evaluate rote knowledge of Math, Science, and English. These tests do not assess creativity, problem-solving, critical thinking, or other knowledge areas that cannot be analyzed by scoring. Instead of memorizing the content like a parrot, students must research and investigate numerous subjects and experience new things. In conclusion, these problems must be removed from the teaching methods. Instead of taking different tests and assignments, students should get more projects to research and investigate.