Problems and Solutions of Transport and Other Aspects of Living in Bangkok

In this world, there are various kinds of transport, depending on where you desire to travel to. For example, if you have a schedule to go to other provinces, they offer different means of transport to select from in order to save time and avoid traffic. Alternatively, you could travel by your personal vehicles. At first, the main reason that causes traffic congestion in Bangkok is people using private transport more than public transport. When Thailand is compared to foreign countries, their public transport is far more reliable, convenient and economical. For example, I used to spend my life in Australia for 1 week. During the time, I saw a few cars on the road, but at the subway, there were plenty of passengers. The reason why Australian people do not use their own cars very often is they can cause too much air pollution, and heavy traffic. While Thai people prefer private transport because of the deep idea of social status and values. Moreover, there are not any quality public transport, such as buses which have given services since World Trade Centre Department did not change their name to Central World, including plenty of construction works or road blocks. As a consequence, Bangkokians encounter the never-ending traffic problem. Even so, students across Thailand move to further their education, graduates seeking job opportunities and various people dreaming to make a fortune in this capital city. It does not matter how terrible pollution, traffic trouble, competing against each other, crime rate and other possible difficulties are, they never stop their dream for a better living and prosperity here at all. I think it is time to solve this problem. There are many possible suggestions. For example, extending the roads and making them parallel, constructing bridges or tunnels at all massive intersections, solving traffic obstruction as urgently as possible. There is another way to decrease the number of cars by increasing car taxes, purchasing a new car by cash only, and making the driver license test more difficult to avoid any dishonest forms of selling a driver license. In conclusion, the traffic congestion problem in Bangkok reflects that the economic prosperity is concentrated in Bangkok and its surrounding areas, and the high and middle class people prefer travelling by their private cars. Solving traffic problems in Bangkok and its vicinity must be connected to the amendment of the country’s development policy to focus on spreading development to other provinces and to develop more for the poor, not just solving the traffic problems. In addition, if still being ineffective, spending even more budgets will be necessary despite causing the remaining budget for other provinces to decrease even more.