Private car ownership has been increasing over the past few decades. This has given ordinary people greater mobility, but has also led to concerns about traffic congestion and air pollution. Do the advantages of private car ownership outweigh the disadvantages?

It is easy to understand that owning a private car will give owners a great flexibility in travelling. However, some people concern about the negative impacts of that on the environment and society. I totally agree with this opinion as the disadvantages of private car ownership is much greater than its advantages. Firstly, let’s talk about its internal factors to owner. The cost paid for a car is not cheap. It can range from 10000$ up to 100000$. An average income earner is not easy to afford that price. Moreover, the costs-associated like maintenance or road charges are hassles that the owner has to face. Renting a car spot is not cheap either, especially in big cities where the fee for a parking spot is extremely high. Hence, The accumulated expenditures for owning a private car will surely make consumer to rethink about their decision. Secondly is the external factors. The rising trend in private car ownership means that there will be less people using public transports like bus and train. The expense to maintain the operations of public transport still remains while no one cares to use it. Consequently, it will leave a huge burden on authority’s shoulder as they might have to spend money on unnecessary things. In addition, emissions from private cars will quickly destroy the environment and break the ozone layers which protect people from the harmful ultraviolet rays. All in all, authorities need to do something towards this rising trend as the way to protect the environment and economy. Encouraging citizens to switch from using private vehicles to public vehicles will bring a lot of benefits to society.