Prison is the common way in most countries to solve the problem of crime. However, a more effective solution is to provide people with a better education.

Reduce the crime rate percentage is one of the most difficult challenges for all government and security organizations across the globe. A plethora of people believes put offenders behind the bars is the best approach to reduce the crime rates. But I disagree with this idea and in my point of view provide education and awareness to all age groups is the best approach to decrease the crime rate. I know this is a debatable topic and I will explain why I reach this conclusion in the following essay. Everyone wishes to stay in a peaceful and secure society and education plays a tremendous role to achieve this. The majority of the education curriculums are developed to increase values like moral, the importance of following the law, social and cultural values in addition to academic progress. Once someone learns these values during the school days these philosophies will engrave into a scholar’s brain, and they will utilize these values for the rest of their life. One of the recent research results from UNICEF is underline this fact because as per their assessment crime rate is extremely low in educated societies. Another crucial point to consider is the atmosphere in prison and its negative influence on prisoners. Several offenders sentenced to jail return as cruel criminals because they are badly influenced and inspired by born criminals lives behind the bars. Numerous imprisoned people acquire new ideas to execute the crime securely and efficiently from jail colleagues, and this can lead to an increase in the crime rate. Additionally, prisoners receive an opportunity to build new friend’s circle inside the prison and eventually these groups may convert into organized criminal gangs. Based on the facts furnished above, I strongly believe proper education is the best way to reduce the crime rate rather than put offenders in jail for small offences. At the same time, I support harsh jail punishment for cruel law-breakings.