Prison is the common way in most countries to solve the problem of crime. However, a more effective solution is to provide people with a better education.

Prison sentences are the most common verdict of small and major crimes. A study found that, at a global scale, most prisoners are people with little or no education. People have since speculated that, perhaps, there might be a link. In my view, money and education are closely linked; a well-settled, educated people would not need to resort to petty crimes as a means to obtain money. The need for money plays a significant role in petty crimes. Moreover, theft is the most common reason for jail terms. For example, a person in serious debt might, for instance, contemplate robbing a bank, despite the penalty if caught. Thus, monetary insufficiency is a note worthy motive for high misdemeanors. Crimes can be significantly lowered by providing free education. Good education is vital to eradicate crimes. Properly educated individuals have a higher change of obtaining well-paid jobs. For example, citizens who can pay for their weekly, monthly, and yearly expenditures would not engage in actions such as chain snatching, bank robbery, drug trafficking and so on. Hence, a country must provide free education for its citizens. In conclusion, a well- educated individual is not only the backbone of a country. but also a representative of the country itself. Crime rates could drastically drop if all the citizens are educated.