Prison is the common way in most countries to solve the problem of crime. However, a more effective solution is to provide people with a better education.

Prison sentences are the most common verdict of tiny and major crimes. A study found that, at a global scale, most prisoners are people with tiny or no education. People have since speculated that, perhaps, there might be a link. In my view, money and schooling are closely linked; a well-settled, educated people would not need to resort to petty crimes as a means to obtain money. The need for money plays a significant role in petty crimes. Moreover, theft is the most common reason for jail terms. For example, a person in serious debt might, for instance, contemplate robbing a bank, despite the penalty if caught. Thus, monetary insufficiency is a noteworthy motive for high misdemeanors. Crimes can be significantly lowered by providing free education. Good training is vital to eradicate felonies. Properly educated individuals have a higher change of obtaining well-paid jobs. For example, citizens who can pay for their weekly, monthly, and yearly expenditures would not engage in actions such as chain snatching, bank robbery, drug trafficking. Hence, a country must improve the literacy rate of for its citizens. In conclusion, a well- educated individual is not only the backbone of a country, on the contrary also a representative of the country itself. Crime rates could drastically drop if all the citizens are educated.