Prison is not a cure for a crime To reduce crime in the long term, courts should significantly reduce prison sentences and focus on education and community service to help criminals not to re-offend. with this opinion?

A reduced prison sentence may not always be the answer. Sometimes, reducing these sentences can be more effective in comparison to long sentences. Some people think that reducing prison sentences is a better idea, but others may argue. This essay will discuss both views. However, I believe reducing the punishment with education and community service is a good thing for a long term outcome. A long prison sentence is what most people would expect when a person is convicted of a crime. These long prison sentences could potentially push convicts to become aware of the crime they committed. It also gives victims a sense of comfort, knowing that the convicts are put away and that they are safe. On top of that, giving convicts prison sentences according to the crimes they committed brings justice and equity. For example, a person who committed vehicular homicide and getting a long prison sentence seems like a fair decision, but someone who got falsely accused of murder and getting a long sentence isn’t very proper. On the other hand, though long prison sentences have its advantages such as preventing convicts from commiting more crime and providing more time for said convicts to reflect, it also has several downsides. Not many people realize that long prison sentences keep convicts away from their loved ones for a long period of time and alienating them from society can cause mental issues. Instead of long prison sentences, reducing them and providing education such as providing workshops or seminars can help the convicts to pick up where they left off and learn new hard and soft skills, such as the value of teamwork and the importance of communication. In addition, these prison sentences can be reduced and replaced with community service along the lines of picking up trash and helping in homeless shelters. This is an advantage because it could slowly help re-introduce these prisoners back into the world, and give them a productive activity they could do as an alternative. For instance, a person who was arrested for possession of drugs may have a drug addiction as well, and rehabilitation would be a better alternative compared to a long prison sentence. In conclusion, both methods have their own pros and cons, and are suitable depending on the crime committed. I think that reducing prison sentences and replacing them with other forms of effective punishments may work better since they’re given another chance to grow and be better individuals.