Primary headaches and secondary headaches

Aim of this post is to discuss potential therapies and lifestyle changes, that would help patients to alleviate or cure their headaches. Firstly, I will write short introduction, that will include necessary basic definitions. Those defintions should help the reader to better grasp the main part of this text. Under the term primary headaches, one defines those headaches, whose cause is not easily traceable. On the other hand, causes of secondary headaches are easily discovered ( i. e. alcohol consumption or head trauma). Primary headaches are then divided into three different groups: Tension headaches, migraines and cluster headaches. Tension headaches are the most common type of headaches, while cluster headaches are the rarest. Secondly, I will discuss those three groups of headaches with their potential causes, symptoms and treatments. This should give the reader an insight into the complexity of this issue. I will start with the most common type and that means with the tension headaches. They are mostly located in the neck area and the occipital (back) part of the head and could move to the frontal part of the head. These headaches appear on both sides of the head and tend to be alleviated by physical activity. Migraines, on the other hand, are group of headaches that are located only on one side of the head and usually get alleviated by the rest. Migraines are commonly followed by other symptoms: nausea, sensitivity to lights and sounds, cold sweats, diarrhea, etc. Last but not least, cluster headaches are very strong headaches, that are usually followed by nasal congestion and/or nasal discharge. They last up to few hours, but patients with this type of headaches report strongest pain among all primary headaches patients. Next question is, what can a person do to prevent, alleviate or to cure one's headache? There are surely many perspectives to look at one's illness and their cures. I will concentrate myself mostly to the western medical view of this issue and work through the possible management of this three types of headaches, one by one. Tension headaches are caused by the stiffness of the muscle that connects frontal and back part of the head. When we are under physical or psychological stress, our muscles become tense because of fight or flight response, that activates sympaticus and makes us ready to take an action. Alleviating tension in the muscles, i. e. by warm shower or massage this type of headache have tendency to get better.