Prevention is better than cure. Out of a country’s health budget, a large proportion should be diverted from treatment to spending on health education and prevention measures. with this statement?

Nowadays, the cost of medicaments has gone so high that it is becoming difficult for the average income households to bear them. Prevention is easier than affording the costly cures, therefore it is believed that the money utilizing on treatments should be channeled towards the health education and preventive measures. I agree with the statement up to a certain extent as there should be sufficient funds for fatal conditions also. First of all, the lesser funds are required in spreading and initiating health awareness among the population. Thus, the rest of the capital can be employed for providing other services such as education, employment, transport to the people which is crucial for the development of a state. For instance, if fitness related activities are included as mandatory in the curriculum of educational institutions, then it will not only make children well-informed of their physical fitness but also play a major role in building their future. As prevention is better than cure, consequently it is critical for the government to allocate an ample amount of funds to the preventive steps. On the flip side, this shifting of money is not always beneficial as there are some diseases which are a bit complex to prevent. For example, causes of cancer like dreadful disease have not been completely understood till today. How would it be prevented then? Moreover, these complications are extremely technical, which is far from understanding of a common man. Accordingly, employing larger proportion of the budget in averting illness conditions than on expensive therapies is not completely correct. Finally, it can be said that transferring of finances from high-cost medicaments to the physical fitness awareness strategies is right but up to a certain limit. I believe that adequate funds should be devoted to preventive actions as well as therapeutics as both of them are essential for the well-being of an individual.