Preventing is better than cure. To what extent do you agree

Researching for a cure and treatment of existing illnesses can be very time and money-consuming. Therefore, it is better to focus on actions that prevent people from obtaining a disease. I completely agree that this is the best way to improve public health at a lower human cost. First of all, many diseases cannot be cured, especially in the last stages of an illness. Therefore, the best way to save a person’s life is to prevent a disease from appearing or stop its mutation and development in the human body. Research can be done regarding the measures to find the cause of illnesses and reveal the genetic diseases. This will help to tackle the issue in the early stages. For instance, cancer is a disease that cannot be cured at the moment, even though big sums of money are spent to find a solution to this problem. I think it is better to introduce measures to find a person’s predisposition to the disease before it becomes incurable. Moreover, most of the disease weaken and change human body even if a particular illness is cured. A serious illness can result in damages to different organs which cannot be returned to their initial state. This can lead to the appearance of other issues and result in poor health or early death. However, preventing the spread of a disease can save people from these consequences. The most recent example is COVID-19 that doesn’t have a particular cure and cannot always be cured in the late stages, especially when it attacks people in older ages. Moreover, the illness can often mutate and lead to different lung and heart issues. Therefore, understanding how to prevent (the) sickness can save people. In conclusion, the prevention of diseases is the easiest and most effective method to improve the health of people with the least consequences.