childhood poverty is one of the most serious problems and challenges in children’s life

Globally, childhood poverty is one of the most serious problems and challenges in children’s life. These problems; Living in dilapidated homes, low income for families are directly linked to the children's circumstances. Therefore, Poverty needs concerted international efforts to reduce it and build an integrated and prosperous society that preserves the dignity and rights of Children. This essay will discuss and explain the effects of childhood poverty in terms of physically and mentaly, then its impact on the progress of children’s education. Living in poor homes, lack of services, and deprivation lead to major physical and mental problems for children. According to Tomlinson et al. 2008 ‘studies living in slums has negative effects on children's livelihood and their physical health. These studies included undesirable conditions in houses such as crowded people, uneven floors, dirty walls, and living in damp and rotting places which have a major effect on respiratory diseases and also lead to transmission of epidemic diseases, as well as children who live in poor housing are more susceptible to injuries and accidents. Statistics indicate that more than (24%) who live in bad neighborhoods attend hospital compared to (15%) for others, these percentages may increase inside homes due to the lack of arrangement and awareness of potential dangers such as electric shock and the risk of fire. Moreover, living in bad housing is directly linked to physical growth due to the lack of sleep, perhaps due to overcrowding or loud noise, and because of their exposure to extreme cold and heat, which impedes the secretion of growth hormone that occurs during deep sleep (shelter/Against the odds). In addition to physical health, Poor housing and harsh treatment have a major impact on the mental and emotional health of children. According to Wickham et al. 2016, family financial pressure is one of the most important reasons related to a child's mental health, as poverty affects the psychological state of children due to deprivation, therefore, they tend to have different forms of crime and delinquency, for instance, Contraband dealers take advantage of poverty among children and push them to commit crime or theft and thus lead to serious consequences such as imprisonment or escape thus, they will live their entire lives in anxiety and depression. On the other hand, harsh treatment by parents is one of the main reasons that lead to psychological isolation and feelings of unhappiness and may sometimes lead to suicide, the reason for this disturbance in the behavior of parents is the lack of equal income and job opportunities (Randall et al. 2010 ‘). From the above, it can be seen poverty has a great impact on mental and physical health. Therefore, countries must cooperate to reduce this phenomenon to build a strong society and a generation free from illness and psychological complications. In terms of education, poverty has an enormous impact on children's achievement at school and their ability to perform their duties. According to Tomlinson et al. 2008 ‘new research indicates that low income has a major role in the decline in the scientific level and educational achievement for the children, as there is a close relationship between the well-being of the individual and his educational level. For example, children who live well, doing better in school than those who live in slums. Interestingly, the educational level of the students has the power to change a child's behavior. Studies have been conducted in the United States of America on the negative impact of poverty on the development of certain areas of the brain (Wickham et al. 2016, P. 762). Many deprived children do not obtain educational qualifications due to an absence from school. Moreover, children are required to leave school before completing their education to work and reduce the financial hardship (www. NCBI. nim, gov). In addition to children's behavior, poverty affects the children's willingness to go through the stage of study and achievements in school, however, some factors have a direct role such as poverty level, age of the child, and the cost of studying in school. According to Tomlinson et al. 2008 ‘that most children in poor families having low grades and poor communication skills to play cooperative games with the rest of the students, unfortunately, they suffer from moral and behavioural deprivation, especially in the early stages of their school life. On the other hand, in many countries, education is not free, and students are required to wear a uniform and pay transportation fees and the rest of the wages for school supplies, which increases the opportunity for poor children to not be educated. From the above education is considered one of the most important methods used to combat poverty and a positive effect to get rid of mental problems such as depression and psychological isolation by urging governments to put in place mechanisms to exclude poor families from tuition fees. Therefore, this leads to the prosperity of countries To Conclude, there are few opportunities to make children who live in poor housing enjoy health and also achieve an education. Lack of health, depression, and poor education are among the main challenges that children are exposed to. Therefore, governments and Charitable organizations should make a realistic study of these problems with a scale and intensity that is proportionate to the level of need and join efforts for a future free from poverty and deprivation.