present the solution to a problem

Almost half the world’s population now lives in urban areas and, as cities grow even larger, conditions for city dwellers are likely to get worse. Two of the most critical problems are pollution and crime. Air pollution has become worse due to increasing emissions from vehicles and factories and this is a major health problem for people who live in cities. Graffiti, vandalism and assaults are among the crimes which are rising in many cities. However, there are several ways in which both of these problems can be reduced. There are a number of steps that could be taken to reduce pollution in urban areas. Firstly, governments could increase the tax on cars and petrol to discourage people from driving. They could also subsidise public transport to make it cheaper and encourage more people to use trains and buses. This would reduce carbon dioxide emissions caused by cars and would also make commuting more efficient. Another way of reducing pollution would be to introduce stricter anti-pollution laws to make factories responsible for the environment. The government could impose heavy fines on companies that break these laws. The urban crime rate could be reduced in a number of ways. For example, providing better entertainment facilities for young people would reduce graffiti and other types of vandalism because boredom is one of the reasons for these types of crimes. Installing surveillance cameras in public areas would be another positive step because it would deter people from vandalizing public property. It would also make it easier for police to catch vandals. More police at night would also help reduce alcohol-related crimes such as assault. To sum up, although pollution and crime are likely to become worse as cities continue to grow, there are many things that can be done to reduce these problems.