Nowadays traffic jam is becoming more and more popular in the world. What are the causes of this and what solutions should be suggested for this situation?

The issue of traffic jams in the world has aroused people’s discussion. Recently, more and more people get stressed with this situation, as they have to spend hours after hours in the street and lose their productivity and valuable time. Numerous negative effects have arisen as a result of this and societies can take steps to mitigate these potential problems. For a number of reasons, traffic has become the main problem of many cities and towns all over the world. Firstly, as the population growth in many metropolis cities such as in Shanghai, New York, Dhaka and Bangkok has increased rapidly in the past recent years, it means that there are more cars in the city. Secondly, in some cities, public transportation facilities are poorly managed therefore the people choose to drive their own vehicles. For example, there are no subway systems in my hometown, Hanoi, and the bus system is inconvenient and inefficient. Lastly, in many countries such as Vietnam or China, the economic development is not widespread, and as a result a lot of people from rural areas move to cities which would create traffic related problems. Many people are buying private cars and it is not unusual that many families own more than one car. These two reasons with the poor traffic management system in many cities cause unmanageable traffic jams nowadays. The problem of traffic has several effects on people and the city. The most significant effect is increased anger and frustration. Every day, people experience a delay in reaching their workplaces or universities. This leads to high tension and stress among them. Another feasible effect worth mentioning here is the environmental effect. The quality of air declines because of the exhaust fumes generated by cars which may result in severe health problems such as asthma, bronchitis and heart attacks. The waste of time on average is huge and this is another major drawback the bad traffic is causing. In conclusion, it is clear that there are various reasons for traffic problems these days. It is mainly due to the population growth, density and poor public transportation facilities. The government and public should cooperate to reduce the number of vehicles by improving the public transports, developing new areas and persuading its residents to use bicycles.