Present a written argument or case to an educated reader with no specialist knowledge of the following topic. Popular events like the football World Cup and other international sporting occasions are essential in easing international tensions and releasing

Sports have always been part of national identity and moments which put together more countries in a competition have had an enormous influence on people’s relations. I disagree the idea that such events can reduce global tension and I strongly believe that these are a good occasion for most of the inhabitants of a country to be and feel unified. International sport competitions are a good opportunity for some countries to become popular and to make those who live there to feel proud and happy. This is not available in competitions such as football World Cup. Usually, some of the supporters, if their favorite team had lost an important game, use to express their dissatisfaction by attacking the sustainers of the other team. Consequently, this attitude sometimes can take to an increased tension between galleries, but countries are not so much affected. However, although few sports competitions can end up with violence, there are still a lot of peaceful sports, which involve expressing negative feelings. Take, for example, gymnastics or tennis. Here, can’t be told that people will cooperate with those which form the gallery of the opposite country but, at least, negative feedback is not gave. Moreover, people are interested only in the success of their team. In conclusion, supporting a country in an international sporting competition combines the desire of succeed of a nation, but not the wishes of everyone. As a result, this is a good opportunity to unify a country but not some different ones. Sometimes the consequences of a failure can have a temporary negative impact on people’s actions.