Popular events like the football World Cup and other international sporting occasions are essential in easing international tensions and releasing patriotic emotions in a safe way.

International sporting events are always a source of attraction for everyone and a large number of people used to attend these events to express their love and support for their country. Many people argue that such occasions are mandatory for exhausting their hate and tension for their rival country. Others state that these events could boost up tension between countries and deteriorate their relation. I agree to some extent that such opportunities could be a menace to the people of nations. It is often seen that people start fighting over supporting their country. Sometimes the situation goes out of control and causes lots of casualties. Many unbiased people are also hurt in these riots. This will end by leaving bad impressions of their country to the world. However, events like football or cricket world cup provide an opportunity for people to understand and explore the cultures and norms of their rival country. They closely observed and spend time with each other. This will surely help in removing their conflicts and disputes to some extent. In some cases, such as in football world cup 2014, after elimination of North Korea, the supporters of both South and North Korea supported South Korea by sidelining their personal differences. This is the perfect example to demonstrate the worth of these events. In conclusion, I believe that international events are not proved to be fruitful in lessening high temperature between nations. They seem to be more destructive and violent while supporting their teams. However, people could become normal by increasing the frequency of these events.