prefer: living in a vibrant, exciting city in a small apartment or living in a large five bedroom house with a lot of land in a small quite area.

There is currently a contentious argument over whether corporal punishment should be applied in academic institutions to modify students’ behaviour. In my opinion, I totally disagree with this opinion because violent punishment may lead to poor academic performance and increase tendency of violent behaviours of students. The main reason why I disagree with the belief that students should be punished by corporal methods is because(that) it may cause students to study badly. Hitting students not only triggers physical injuries, but also mental damages. In a long run, students feel frightened when going to school and detest their teachers. Consequently, they lose their interest in studying and perform badly at school. To illustrate, my younger brother is very talkative, so he always got corporal punishments at school by his Math teacher when he was in 6th grade. Now, he hates Math and cannot perform well in Math in grade 12 as he hated his Math teacher in 6th grade. In addition, another reason why I do not support the notion that educators should hit students to change their behaviours is due to the fact that it may accelerate violent behaviours among students. The youth tend to learn from adults’ behaviours. Hence, if adults impose violent punishing techniques on students when they misbehave, they will learn that they could use violent behaviours with people who cause troubles to them. For instance, my cousin, a 6-year-old boy, fought his classmate at school because his friend took his notebook without asking for his permission. He said that he wanted to teach his friend that he should ask for the owner’s permission before borrowing something. Moreover, he said that he learnt such violent punishing method from his teachers because his teachers hit him whenever he forgot his student books at home. In conclusion, I completely disagree that corporal punishments should be used in academic institutions to adjust students’ behaviours because it may worsen academic performance and foster violent habits of students. Given this situation, it seems that educators should utilize other techniques to punish students such as reducing some of their rights in class or lowering their marks.