Precautionary measures to be taken by banks to protect customers overuse credit cards

Careless and irresponsible use of credit cards push many people into debt. Banks should ensure the customers' ability to repay their debts before issuing credit cards to them and I agree with this view. Firstly this essay will look at why banks should ascertain the credit history of customers and secondly investigate the financial stability of users. In the first place, banks verify the customer's credit history based credit score or credit report, in which certain events like old credit information, interest rates etc are not included. As a result there would not be a clear picture of customer's credit history which in turn disables banks to assess the debt repaying ability of a customer. For example, a bankruptcy that is more than 10 years old would not be listed on the credit report. In order overcome these issues banks should impose additional measures. On the other hand, Banks should review the financial stability of customers. In case of self employed and students the monthly income may vary. For instance A freelancer income is variable. At the same time this could bring them to delay the payments. Late payments put forth to high interest rates conversely this will add on to debts. On the grounds banks should determine the appropriate rules and regulations. In conclusion, certain precautionary measures undertaken by banks would surely control the dangerous tendency using credit cards indiscriminately.