Positive thinking is invaluable at work. It boosts a company’s productivity and enhances personal wellbeing. An opposite view is also popular. It maintains that positivity is irrelevant at work and that productivity results from technical expertise and nothing else. What is your position on this issue? Discuss the issue and support your position with good reasons based on evidence.

There is a belief that people should maintain positive attitude at work since it can raise productivity and foster employee’s wellbeing whereas others say that there is no relation between positivity and working efficiency. Although I am more in favor of the initial opinion, this essay will discuss both views. Optimistic thinking is beneficial at work for a variety of reasons. To begin with, positive thinking can help to increase productivity. People who possess optimistic minds often make thoughful decisions and can focus on the task at hand without external anxiety. Thus, they feel less stress and become more resilience especially in the event of harships. In addition, by fostering optimistic thinking, people can improve their health and wellbeing. There are numerous researches suggest that positive thinking can prolong lifespan, lower incidences of depression and enhance immune system. From another perspective, many people state that workplace productivity is the result of specific knowledge and expertise, not from positivity. The main reason for that is because positive thinking alone is not the solution for all problems. In time of crisis, people need to make solid plans and strategies in order to overcome the situation rather than relying on a false hope. For example, in the COVID-19 pandemic, businesses should devise a contingency plan to expect the unexpected instead of have faith in a possitive scenario which may not occurred. In conclusion, the above analysis shows that the given ideas have their own rationale. In my opinion, it is much wiser to learn how to keep a positive attitude at the work place due to its undeniable benefits such as improved job satisfaction, enhanced creativity and better health.