positive or negative effects of consumerism

Read the prompt below and respond accordingly. Companies spend millions each year on advertising online, in magazines, and on billboards. These adverts can encourage people to buy goods they do not really need. In your opinion how true is this and what are the? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write an essay between 250-350 words. In this materialistic world, buying and selling goods and products have become very common, and to get anything spending money is the most suitable option. To sell products or services, companies follow various schemes; consumerism is one of the most successful trends. In my perception, consumerism is associated with various facts like production, marketing, industrialisation, and so on. The product is consumed in this method, the more will be produced. As a result, the economic cycle will grow indefinitely. The purchasing power of a community determines its solvency. The more product is bought, the healthier that economy is. Though consumerism is widely spread nowadays, it has some major disadvantages. In this essay, I will try to delineate my point of view regarding the merits and demerits of consumerism. As briefly described above, consumerism is related to production. Consequently, it leads to industrialization. To meet the customers' demand companies have to focus on mass production; thus, to build more factories. More factories mean more employment. So, in a way, consumerism leads to a better lifestyle. Moreover, marketing is another essential element of consumerism. Through marketing promotions, people get to know about various products. They might be in search for a particular product but could not find what he actually needs. Product promotion can introduce us to various items. Additionally, In this digital era, marketing has also been being digitalized. So other job openings have been available due to the incorporation of consumerism and digital media. On the contrary, consumerism has some repugnant effects as well. Firstly, consumerism promotes materialistic environment. So lifestyles of many communities have been altered for good. Even social crimes( bullying, blackmailing, stabbing, even murders) have increased since the introduction of consumerism. Because, everybody cannot afford standard living, but poor people will demand costly items, and crime is the easiest way to get those. Sometimes, people end up buying unnecessary items due to heavy-influential marketing. Additionally, product quality is not ensured in this scheme. Because of mass production and overwhelming public demand, companies are forced to hasty delivery and the quality is not maintained properly.