Sport - physical or mental strength

Many people argue about the influence of either physical, or mental strength in sport. It's quite difficult to characterize any of them, since they are not strict definitions, and others can imagine other meanings underneath them. Let me start with the physical strength. It has become a cliché that a successful sportsman needs to be in flawless physical shape. Even young boys in kindergarten play games where they measure their muscles to determine who has the biggest chance of becoming an athlete. Partly, it's definitely true. However, it's not only the body shape and size that matter - it's actually sustainability. Sport is both about quantity and quality of the exercise. It isn't important to do something for a little while and then give up on it. It's the years of training that make one perfect in a certain field. A lot of ball games require player to not only be able to run, but also to think straight and use logic. This falls under the mental type of strength. This includes reflexes and predictability skill as well. Certain sports, such as tennis, require not only all of the abovementioned characteristics, but also the ability to adapt to the game. There also other types of sports that not necessarily need the physical aspects of the body to be met. For example, chess is usually considered to be a sport for the brain. In conclusion, sport consists of a variety of disciplines. It is impossible to put them into one sack and find qualities that would match all of them. To be successful in any of them, both aspects of strength are significant and irreplaceable.