positive and negative effects of supermarkets over small shops

The economical development of a nation is highly dependent on the tertiary sector- out of which shoping has always been a prominent way. However, the preference given to a supermarket or a local market is subjective. But, it also depends on the availability and the reach of shops to narrow corners of cities. With the advancement of technology, the pace of building supermarkets has taken a significant speed, which, I believe is a positive aspect for development. The most prominent, supportive assertion would be the availability of all variety of products under one roof, which makes it easier for customers to compare products in real time. This not only facilitates them with greater discounts but also the flexibility of returning the product under some conditions. However, it also has negative effect on small shops and local market, since, people find it more comfortable buying products from a supermarket than from a local shop. As a result, small shop Keepers are facing a lose owing to which they are switching to different small businesses. In conclusion, I believe, Supermarkets help enhancing the economy and developing the better lifestyle. But, its adverse effect on small shops is not negligible. And in future, supermarkets are going to eradicate small shops and markets. Thus, governments can help aid small businesses to preserve the economy.