popular event like football world cup and other international sporting occasions are essential in easing international tensions and releasing patriotic emotions in a safe way. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Sports are a formidable force for unity according to this reason they positively contribute to the formation of national identity. However, in my opinion, every now and then, people have been falling into the trap of being patriotic that appears as a great cause to demolish unity and at the same time unsettling world peace. As I stated above, I don’t totally agree that international sport events play a great role in easing international tensions and releasing patriotic emotions in a safe way. The main reason I don’t agree with this opinion is that I tend to believe that competition is not a great tool to reduce national tensions. On the contrary, it has a tendency to increase high pressure to people who are elaborated in the events even though health-care professionals recommend physical activity as a key ingredient to any stress-management initiative but what I am trying to say is that excessive pressure can cause you to lose focus on what really matters, which is focusing on the process or what you need to do in the present to play optimally. Occasionally, when we involve intense emotions such as when we take a specific event to seriously, we have a tendency to get lost from what counts most. In consequence, being patriotic in national events is potentially harmful such as the cheering team fighting against the opposite team. National events are essential in many perspectives however I strongly believe that everyone needs to control their extreme emotions otherwise the great will can turn to be a curse instead.