Pollution of rivers, lakes and seas is a major concern for people who seek to protect the environment. What are the possible causes of water pollution, and what effects does this have on animal life and human society?

It is common knowledge that in this day and age, one of the major concerns for the environmentalists is the water contamination. With no doubt, there is a myriad of reasons and impacts it exerts on the humankind and animal species. In this essay, light will be shed on this relevant issue and some causes alongside with the effects of the water pollution will be dwelled on as well. To begin with, needless to say, there is an array of possible causes of water contamination. One of them is the release of harmful substances produced by factories into the rivers and, in turn, into the lakes and seas. As an example, there has been a recent horrendous catastrophy by the sea in the vicinity of Kamchatka. Due to the leak of harmful gas from the nearest factory, the percentage of petrol in the sea was 5 times as big as it is considered to be normal, therefore leading to a complete contamination of the water nearby the coast. Furthermore, it is considered to be people's neglegence which contaminates water resources a lot. For example, it goes without saying that people often litter at coastal areas, so the rubbish they leave gets to the open seas, lakes and rivers. In addition, there are plenty of side-effects of water pollution for both people and animals. For instance, water contamination exerts a detrimental impact on people's and animals' health conditions. Considering the example of Kamchatka, the contamination of the sea led to a complete devastation of the offshore's ecosystem. At first, it led to the deterioration of health of people living nearby, and afterwards thousands of fish, octopuses and jellyfish were washed ashore, weakened and dead. In the light of conducted discussion, the following inference could be made, that there are both logical reasons and impacts of water pollution on all of the living creatures. Thus, the government is to devise a comrehensive and balanced programme in order to aware more people of the problem and begin undertaking serious measures which could prevent water resources from their further contamination.